The following are descriptions of the 5 kingdoms:

moneraimageKINGDOM MONERA (monerans) -

*1 cell
*no true nucleus - prokaryote (genetic material scattered and not enclosed by a membrane)
*some move (flagellum); others don't
*some make their own food (autotrophic); others can't make their own food (heterotrophic)
*examples - bacteria, blue-green bacteria (cyanobacteria)

animatedprotistimageKINGDOM PROTISTA (protists) -

*1 cell
*have a true nucleus - eukaryote
*some move (cilia, flagella, pseudopodia); others don't
*some are autotrophic; others are heterotrophic
*examples - amoeba, diatom, euglena, paramecium, some algae (unicellular), etc

fungiimageKINGDOM FUNGI -

*have nuclei
*mainly do not move from place to place
*heterotrophic (food is digested outside of fungus)
*examples - mushroom, mold, puffball, shelf/bracket fungus, yeast, etc.

plantimageKINGDOM PLANTAE (plants) -

*have nuclei
*do not move
*examples - multicellular algae, mosses, ferns, flowering plants (dandelions, roses, etc.), trees, etc

animalimageKINGDOM ANIMALIA (animals) -

*have nuclei
*do move
*examples - sponge, jellyfish, insect, fish, frog, bird, man


Print this page in Adobe Acrobat format.

Visit the Utah State 7th Grade Integrated Science Core Curriculum Page.
Updated June 15, 2000 by: Glen Westbroek
Science Home Page | Curriculum Home Page | Core Home Page | USOE Home Page
Copyright by the Utah State Office of Education